Efrat Alony

one of the most important voices in German jazz

Efrat Alony's exceptional voice and remarkable compostions made her to one of "the most important voices in the German jazz scene". She writes poetical textes and melts sound-elements rooted in folk and electronic music - with the freedom of jazz. 

The artist

The Israeli singer and composer Efrat Alony has been fascinating the European audience and press for years- ever since her arrival in Berlin.  

Expressive and urgent in her compositions, vulnerable - almost thin-skined in her prose, and unmistakably unique in her agile, warm sound and style of singing-alway on the search for new paths- Efrat was crowned "one of the most important voices in the the german jazz scene" 

 

The trio's new CD (a co-production with the Berlin Radio RBB) will be released on Enja Records , March 2012. 

 

Bio

Born in Haifa, Israel, singer Efrat Alony studied composition, arranging, jazz and classical singing in Israel, Germany and the U.S.,with additional lessons from the likes of Joe Lovano, Bob Brookmeyer and Steve Gray. Efrat was a featured composer and soloist with many renowned big bands such as the Sunday Night Orchestra (CD “Overcast”, 2008), the Jazz Orchestra of the Concertgebouw (Amsterdam) or the Radio Big Band Frankfurt (HR-Bigband). In 2006 she was awarded the Jazz Performance Prize of the Karl Hofer Society and the Jazz Institute Berlin. In 2008 as well as in 2010 she received the City of Berlin Jazz Award and in 2009 the International Jazz Award of “Nürnberger Nachrichten”.In 2010 she was nominated for the BMW World Jazz Award. In 2009 she released her forth CD "Dismantling Dreams" on Enja Records.

Efrat Alony

eine der wichtigsten Stimmen des Deutschen Jazz

Efrat Alony gehört mit ihrer außergewöhnlichen Stimme und den unverwechselbaren Kompositionen inzwischen „zu den wichtigsten Stimmen des Deutschen Jazz". Sie schreibt dichte poetische Texte und verbindet Elemente aus Folk- und Elektro - Musik mit der Freiheit des Jazz." 

Die Künstlerin

Die experimentierfreudige Vokalistin beeindruckt seit vielen Jahren ihr Publikum in Europa und USA mit ihrer hochbeweglichen Stimme, ihren sensiblen Songtexten und expressiven Kompositionen und hat sich mit ihrer Musik einen unverwechselbaren Platz in der Musikszene erobert. Dabei läßt sie sich in keine Schublade einordnen, sondern geht immer neugierig und ungewöhnliche neue, musikalische Wege.  

Die neue CD ihres Trios (eine Koproduktion des rbb Berlin-Brandenburg) wird auf Enja Records in Herbst 2012 erscheinen. 

Bio

geboren in Haifa, Israel als Tochter irakischer Einwanderer, studierte sie Komposition, und Gesang, zunächst in ihrem Heimatland, dann in den USA am Berklee College of Music in Boston und abschließend in Berlin an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler . Mit Bob Brookmeyer fand sie einen wichtigen musikalischen Mentor. Als Feature-Vokalistin und Komponistin trat sie auf mit dem Sunday Night Orchestra, dem Jazz Orchestra Concertgebouw, Amsterdam und der Bigband des Hessischen Rundfunks. Sie arbeitete als musikalische Leiterin und Vokaltrainerin u.a mit dem renommierten amerikanischen Regisseur Robert Wilson. 2006 gewann sie den Jazz Performance Preis der Karl-Hofer-Gesellschaft Berlin, 2008 erhielt sie den Jazz-Förderungs Preis des Berliner Senats. Im Jahr darauf wurde ihr der „International Jazz Award der Nürnberger Nachrichten“ verliehen und in 2010 nominierte sie die Jury für den BMW Welt Jazz Award. Mit „Dismantling Dreams“ veröffentlichte Efrat Alony 2009 ihr mittlerweile viertes Album bei Enja Records.